The Dream Conundrum

A Dream to Remember

Good evening! It’s Monday, the start of the week. And the bane of my existence. So for this entry I thought I’d talk about something that’s been on my mind since the day started.

Last night I had a dream. And usually I don’t remember dreams because they don’t seem to be interesting. But there was something strange about this particular dream that lingered on throughout the entire day.

So in this dream, I was sitting with a four other people I never knew. But I had the feeling that we were all friends. All of a sudden a monster comes out of nowhere and ruins the day. The five of us stand up, and one person stands in front of us as we faced the monster. He wore a green shirt and said, “It’s morphin’ time!” At that moment I realize I was dreaming of the Power Rangers. But this team didn’t consist of any known actors. This team was made of complete unknowns. Anyway, we morph in the suits. I look down at my hands and see my suit consisting of the black color (which was cool because the Black Ranger was usually my favorite). The others morphed into the red, green, pink, and yellow rangers. Together we fought the monster and eventually won.

But this wasn’t the thing that lingered in my thoughts. At the end of fight, the others took off their helmets and powered down into their regular clothing. We gathered around a table listening to stories and other things. As I sat there, the girl that was the yellow ranger sat next to me. She had blond hair and was kind of cute. She looked at me, smiled, and held my hand. Her hand felt warm and soft as we stayed at that table until the dream vanished (and I had to pee).┬áIt was that last moment I remember most vividly before the dream ended. The blond haired girl, her smile, her hand holding mine, and the gathering with the other rangers.

Now I am a big Power Rangers fan and I was watching a few episodes before I went to sleep. And it made me think, that if what we saw before bed, actually reflected what our dreams would become. Or if my mind is trying to tell me something. As just an FYI, I am not any kind of scientist. So what I say is me trying to gather my thoughts into something coherent.

It’s very rare for dreams to linger like this one did. Most really good dreams tend to stay until about noon, where they disappear into the dark corners of my head. Out of all the dreams I’ve had (I had another where I was stuck in a video game and another where I flew my own spaceship), why was it that this one stayed with me for the entire day? To be frank, this session of slumber was the first in a long time where I was in a state of complete comfort. Was it the things I did before sleep? Or was it God’s way of saying “You deserve a really good night’s sleep?”

Anyway, thanks for sticking around. I’ll try and think of a schedule to post these. But in the meantime, have a good night.

-Andrew

Leave a Reply

