Episode 1: The Wonders of Referrals

Good evening! So today, I’m starting a new thing that I’m calling “Road to Publication.” This series will include my journey to becoming published, as well as my thoughts on other things that could or will lead to getting published.

In episode one, I’ll be giving my thoughts on the science of referrals.

For the few that are asking, “What is a referral?” a referral is the act of referring someone for consultation or review. A referral doesn’t happen just in writing, referrals can be for any type of business or anything you can think of.

In the subject of the entertainment business, a referral is probably one (or if not the biggest) of the ways to get your foot in the door. Remember when people would say “I know a guy,” or “I’ll hook you up?” Then they go off and tell that guy about you, and somehow you got what you were looking for. That was a referral. And it is one of the biggest ways to get into a business.

Story Time!

Back in high school I had a friend (for the sake of keeping things anonymous, we’ll call him Phil). Phil was signed on with this talent agency. I asked him for the name, and he said he’ll put in a good word for me.

Fast forward to a year later (because I had to get my headshots and resume done), I submit to the agency. Shortly after I received an email asking if I could come in for an interview. And here is where it got interesting. During my interview, I was asked “How did you come across us?” And I answered “Oh my friend Phil, who is a client of yours, told me about you.” At that moment I saw their face light up, almost like that was the thing they wanted hear about.

After a week or so of waiting, I got the call that they wanted to sign me. I got excited and signed with that agency. About another year later, I decided to leave the agency to pursue writing and since my schedule was getting hectic with school.

Insert Subtitle Here

What I learned about the grace of referrals, is how it can get you so far or enough to get your foot in the door. Just by dropping the name of one friend, I was able to get into an industry that would’ve tossed me aside.

Here is what I found out, referrals make it easier to get into the business. After finishing and editing and rewriting my novel The Impure, I’ve began to submit to various literary agencies with little to no success. Granted I will continue to submit to agencies with a few breaks to refine the novel even more (it’s been five rewrites so far).

This post is getting a little long, so I’ll end it right here. The point of what I’m trying to say is that referrals could mean the world to everyone.

Have a good night and I’ll see you next time.

-Andrew 🙂

Leave a Reply

