Episode 2: Rejections

Happy Wednesday, everyone! So for the next installment of my “Road to Publication” series, I figured that I’d give you my thoughts on a topic that plagues writers and everyone else: REJECTIONS *cue dramatic music*.

Let’s say you are a writer or an actor, or just someone applying to college. You send your query letter, headshot/resume, or your application. You are waiting a week or a month. It is a gruesome month. You pace back and forth from the mailbox to your email.

After that painful wait, you finally get your response! You read the first line, and it usually goes, “Dear Person, thank you so much for [querying, submitting] to this [agency, college].” And then that dreaded word that lowers your spirits. “Unfortunately.” After the word “unfortunately,” it’s safe to assume that you didn’t get in.

Now being around 19 years old, I’m not as experienced with rejections as someone older than me. But I have gotten a fairly large number of them (ranging from queries to college applications). So if you are like me, a college student trying to break into an industry, or maybe you are someone not like me, who also wants to break into the industry, I’ll give you some tips to get out of that funk a rejection letter gives you.

Tip #1: It’s Not Personal (Not College Related)

Just like what the movies would say, “It’s just business.” And it is a business. You are trying to sell something, like a book or your acting skills. These agents know what the publishing houses are looking for. Or your book isn’t what they’re looking for. But don’t fret, just because one person isn’t interested, doesn’t mean that every agent isn’t interested. Don’t take it personally. Just like in a romantic comedy, there is someone somewhere in that big ocean of agents that is perfect for you. All it takes is for you to find them.

Tip #2: Take Your Mind Off of the Waiting Period

Remember when you sent that query letter or that college application? If you said yes, you should probably take your mind off of it. Lingering on that one thing will make you turn into one loco burrito. Instead, send it off and forget about it. Only until you get a response should you remember it. Trust me, if you keep checking the mail or email hoping for a response, it will really stress you out.

I remember sending a query letter to a literary agent. And I think it was around two months later, I received a rejection letter. I thought to myself “When did I send this?” And it was actually longer than I expected.

Extra Subtitle

So to wrap things up, everyone gets rejected all the time. With the tips above, maybe you could take some stress off of it. I’m not here to bring you down, but to bring you up. To encourage you to keep going. There have been times where I receive rejection after refection, and I think to myself that I should just give up. But trust me, there are others going to the same thing. And they are there to help you as well.

That’s all the time I have for you today. If you or someone you know has a problem dealing with rejections, please share this and lend a hand to others. Have a safe Wednesday and I will see you next time.

-Andrew 🙂

Leave a Reply

